NEW YORK, NEW YORK

As my friends were saying “Your US trip will not be complete without visiting New York!” And so, I did.

New York City is the most populous city in the United States, and the center of the New York metropolitan area, the premier gateway for legal immigration to the United States, and one of the most populous urban agglomerations in the world. In short, it is too much for a country girl. 😀

Many districts and landmarks in New York City have become well known, it ranked as the most photographed city in the world. Since, it’s impossible to take in all the excitement in such a short time,  I focused my adventure in Manhattan and a little side trip in Bronx. Let me share with you some of the photos I took when I did a walkathon around the city for several days.

As I popped out of the New York Penn Station, I readied myself and my camera… Then, I felt that all the towering skyscrapers crumbled down upon me as I saw my camera’s battery icon blinking (and I think, I heard it saying “bye-bye”), a perfectly wrong timing! But since there was nothing I can do…I leave behind my bad luck, and bring out my ever-dependable smartphone and my excitement in touring around one of the the most famous city in the world. On my first day, we did a concrete jungle photo walk on our way to the iconic Central Park. Every street and every corner is a nice composition. No Mr. Big though, neither Carrie Bradshaw…wondered if this is really New York?! 😉

After a long walk, we reached the massive 341-hectare green oasis in the middle-upper Manhattan, the Central Park. It was created in 1857 and was designed by Frederick Law Olmsted and Calvert Vaux, it has been a National Historic Landmark since 1962. The park, which receives approximately 35 million visitors annually, is the most visited urban park in the United States. It is also one of the most filmed locations in the world. That is why, as I walked on this beautiful park and seeing the lovely bridges, terraces and facade, I can’t help but be reminded of the films and TV shows that I’ve watched in the past.

The Bethesda Fountain, with the famous Angel of the Waters atop.

The Bethesda Fountain, with the famous Angel of the Waters atop.

The lovely Bow Bridge shines brightly in one fine autumn in New York.

The lovely Bow Bridge shines brightly in one fine autumn in New York.

Another one-of-a-kind park in New York City is the High Line. It is a public park built on a historic freight rail line elevated above the streets on Manhattan West Side. Historically, it was built between 1929 and 1934 by the New York Central Railroad. It was a vital part of the busy manufacturing landscape of the industrial West Side. The High Line was also known as the “Life Line of New York.” In 1999, it was threatened with demolition. However, in 2002, the NYC council transform the High Line into a public landscape with innovative design as its vision. As a photography enthusiast like me, the mix of street arts, sculptures, urban design and landscape architecture was a fantastic venue to be inspired.

Spending time after sunset in the city is a must! With its dramatically lit skyscrapers, twinkling bridges, and neon lights, NYC is defined by its skyline. Me and Aimee best experienced the silhouette created by Manhattan’s buildings from the observatory at Rockefeller Center’s Top of the Rock. After we enjoyed the cityscape, we walked through Times Square. Twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week, the bright lights, big screens and bustling crowds perfectly embody the excitement of the city that never sleeps.

New York City skyline at night, viewed from Top of the Rock.

New York City Skyline as viewed from Top of the Rock.

Of course, a visit to the Statue of Liberty cannot be miss! It is a colossal neoclassical sculpture on Liberty Island in New York Harbor. The statue is an icon of freedom and of the United States, and was a welcoming sights to immigrants arriving from abroad. We depart from Liberty State in New Jersey going to Ellis Island and Liberty Island. So, I was still able to look around the old Central Terminal and the 9/11 Memorial.

The Statue of Liberty (Enlightening the World). Designed by Frédéric Auguste Bartholdi, a French sculptor, was built by Gustave Eiffel and dedicated on October 28, 1886.

East of Central Park is the Museum Mile, which may have more culture per square foot than anywhere else in the universe. Since of limited time, I was not able to enjoy all 8 museums on the stretch of Fifth Avenue on the Upper East Side, but I  browsed through a couple of them on my last day in the city. We are lucky enough to visit The Museum of Modern Art this time of the year as they have the extraordinary exhibitions and collections of modern and contemporary arts. Seeing the masterpieces of such famous artists culminates my visit of New York City.

Let me end my taste of the concrete jungle with these quotes ~ Before it is called the city that never sleeps. Now, it is the city that never stops, ever-evolving and constantly expanding…that is New York. Something is always happening here, if you get bored, it is your own fault.

Viewed from High Line

Towering skyscrapers and cranes…that is New York for me. View of monumental construction of Hudson Yard from the High Line.

